UIA launches International Innovative Health Design Awards

UIA launches International Innovative Health Design Awards تطلق UIA جوائز التصميمات الصحية المبتكرة الدولية

UIA launches International Innovative Health Design Awards

The International Union of Architects (UIA) has launched the International Innovative Health Design Awards, organized by the UIA Public Health Group, and open to all architects worldwide.

Themes and Objectives

In keeping with its mission to mobilize architects to design for health in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2021 UIA General Assembly declared 2022 the UIA Year of Design for Health.

The International Innovative Health Design Awards aim to celebrate the essential role that architects play in social and environmental well-being and to address how architecture and architecture research focused on Design for Health, can help to mitigate the impact of future calamities. The Awards seek to recognize innovative architectural design solutions addressing issues brought to the fore by the COVID-19 pandemic.  Architects are invited to submit entries in two categories: Built Work and Theoretical Work.


All practicing architects and architecture academics across the globe are eligible.


The official language of the Awards is English.


Built Work Category

  • Cindy Walters (UK), architect
  • Deniz İncedayi (Turkey), Chairperson & UIA Representative, architect
  • Tye Farrow (Canada), architect
  • Kerstin Thompson (Australia), architect
  • Luyanda Mpahlwa (South Africa), architect

Theoretical Category

  • Ola Oduku (UK): Head, University of Liverpool
  • Fani Vavili (Greece), Chairperson, UIA PHG, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, UIA Representative
  • Nivaldo Vieira de Andrade Junior (Brazil), Federal University of Bahia
  • Rosman Wai (Hong Kong), University of Hong Kong
  • Vity Claude Nsalambi (Angola), University Agostinho Neto


There will be one (1) award allocated per award category.  Awardees will be presented with certificates and free entrance to the UIA Congress and the award ceremony.


Launch: 16 September 2022

Deadline for Questions: 5 October 2022

Deadline for Answers: 18 October 2022

Submission of Entries Deadline: 8 February 2023 – 14:00 CET

Jury sessions: March 2023

Announcement of results: 26 April 2023

The Awards presentation and exhibition will take place in at the UIA World Congress of Architects in Copenhagen, Denmark.


Read more about the competition on UIA’s website.


Finally, read more on Archup:

أفضل 10 صانعات قهوة لتجعلك طوال اليوم

The Sense Cup

Brewed-Bali – Beach themed café design challenge

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

six − 2 =