Announcing the second list of nominated projects for the 2022 edition of the Mies van der Rohe Prize

Announcing the second list of nominated projects for the 2022 edition of the Mies van der Rohe Prize,

After the first shortlist for the 2022 edition of the Mies van der Rohe Prize was announced in February,

the European Commission and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation announced the second shortlist of 85 projects nominated for the 2022 edition of the Mies van der Rohe Prize.

New list of 85 projects has now been added to the first list, so that a total of 532 works will now compete to win the 2022 EU Mies Prize.

The second list of 85 projects nominated from 73 different towns and cities was submitted to the list of projects nominated for the EU Mies Award 2022 by independent European experts,

national architecture associations and the award’s advisory committee.

The shortlist of 40 projects will be announced in January 2022,

the winners will be announced in April 2022, and the award ceremony will take place in May 2022.

Works of the two curators are competing for the 2022 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – the Mies van der Rohe Prize.

532 works were completed between October 2018 and April 2021 in 41 countries,

and the EU Mies Award has adapted the calendar of this edition in order to include all work, ensuring the integrity,

accuracy and excellence of the evaluation of all projects as a result of international concern about the global situation.


Announcing the second list of nominated projects for the 2022 edition of the Mies van der Rohe Prize

Looking at the second set of candidates, we find that there is a great balance between the different programs:

18% correspond to educational facilities, another 18% to single homes, and another 18% to mixed-use buildings.

Mies van der Rohe also reported that “13% correspond to collective housing, 11% to cultural facilities,

followed by office buildings, sports and leisure, urban planning, sanitation, food and accommodation,

religion, burial, landscaping and industrial buildings.

65% of the projects result from new construction and the rest are transformations (renovation and extensions),

and the new construction percentage is 70% of the 532 works.”


Announcing the second list of nominated projects for the 2022 edition of the Mies van der Rohe Prize


Works participating

According to statistics, this year’s edition shows a slight increase in candidate youth studies compared to previous editions:

of all 532 works, 84% of architecture offices have more than 10 years of experience and 86% of all participating architects.

The jury, chaired by Tatiana Bilbao, will select 40 outstanding architectural works, of which 5 will be finalists.

After visiting these five works, the winner of the EU Mies Prize for Architecture and the Emerging Winner will be selected.

Topics such as research, urban strategies, crisis scenarios, tourism, architectural culture, aesthetics, sustainability

and integration will be discussed taking into account the jury’s backgrounds and the everyday events that shape the way we live in Europe.

Projects List

The list consists of 532 projects divided as follows: “Spain 39, France 33, Germany 29, Belgium 26, Poland 25, Portugal 22, Italy and the United Kingdom 21, Austria 19, Denmark 17, Greece and Norway 16, Ireland 15,

Hungary, the Netherlands and Slovenia 14, Ukraine 15, Lithuania 13, Croatia 12, Czech Republic 11, Bulgaria, Finland, Georgia, Latvia, Sweden 10, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Romania 9, Cyprus and Estonia 8, Slovakia and Serbia 6, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Luxembourg 5, Armenia, Kosovo, Malta and Tunisia 4, Iceland 3, Moldova 1.

All works are reviewed by a demanding jury of distinguished professionals from different backgrounds,

who will evaluate all works in a comprehensive approach, from their conception and construction stages to their final use by people.

The European Union’s MIS 2022 Prize includes works from Armenia, Moldova and Tunisia for the first time.


Announcing the second list of nominated projects for the 2022 edition of the Mies van der Rohe Prize


Ratings table

January 2022: Announcing 40 selected works.

February 2022: Announcing the five final works.

April 2022: Announcing the names of the winners.

May 2022: EU Mies Open Day with conferences, debates, exhibitions and awards ceremony at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, ​​

open days for selected works.

History of the Mies van der Rohe Prize

The Mies van der Rohe Prize began in 1987 following an agreement between the European Parliament and Barcelona City Council,

the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe has been organized by Fundació Mies van der Rohe and the European Commission since 2001.

Exceptionally, the award is given every two years for work accomplished during the past two years,

but this time it will be awarded after two and a half years due to the circumstances of the pandemic.

Announcing the second list of nominated projects for the 2022 edition of the Mies van der Rohe Prize

The main objectives are to achieve a comprehensive understanding of the transformation that has taken place in the built environment in Europe;

To recognize and pay tribute to excellence and innovation in the field of architecture;

He drew attention to the important contribution of European professionals to the development of new ideas with the undeniable support of customers

and the participation of those who would become users of these premises.

The emerging winner is distinguished by a combination of qualities such as excellence and originality of design;

original and innovative character of her work; And construction of a high standard, well-executed and sustainable.

The jury selects the winner from among those applicants who have not yet received recognition

by having a critically recognized body of work in major

and accredited institutions or publishers.

All works participating in the EU Mies Prize are nominated by one hundred independent European experts,

national architectural associations and the Prize’s advisory committee.

The most recent addition to the award was the Young Talent Architecture Award (2016),

which recognizes and rewards the best graduation projects of architecture students across Europe and beyond.

Mies van der Rohe Prize            

The prize winner will receive €60,000 and a sculpture evoking the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, ​​

and the emerging winner will receive €20,000 with the statue;

Finalists and customers also get on a sculpture, in recognition of their fundamental contribution to contemporary architecture.

The award maps the best contemporary European architecture with the award winner,

emerging architect award winner and Young Architectural Talent award winners.

The prestige of the award and the dissemination of knowledge and skill of European architects is enhanced

by organizing exhibitions and debates around the world,

bringing architecture closer to the citizens.

You may like: Exquisite Chinese architecture Sheraton Huzhou Hot Spring Resort

For more articles on: INJ Architects

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *