Design Educates Awards 2023

Design Educates Awards 2023

Design Educates Awards 2023 is now open for entries!

Design Educates Awards 2023: Design Educates Awards 2023, a competition that investigates the educational potential of architecture and design has been recently announced by Laka Foundation, inviting everyone to promote globally the best ideas and implementations of architecture and design that educate.

About Competition

Laka Foundation is accepting entries for its Design Educates Awards 2023, a multidisciplinary call for ideas that recognizes the best ideas and implementations of architecture and design that can educate.

Moreover, the Design Educates Awards showcase and promote the awarded designs globally. The design itself may provide an informative and educational layer that guides us through the increasing complexity of our environment. It can showcase specific possibilities and challenges, explain sociocultural factors and influences, or even outline new scenarios for future development.

Each year, the esteemed panel of judges selects outstanding ideas and implementations in the categories of architectural design, product design, universal design, and responsive design.

The theme of the awards is inspired by the research titled “Educating Buildings” (“Bildende Bauten”) by Dr. Peter Kuczia.

Competition categories include:

  • Product Design — Products of all scales and types: eg. industrial products, household goods, tools as well as.
  • Architectural Design — Buildings, landscaping, and small forms that bring change to their surroundings.
  • Responsive Design — A building, object, or product that is capable of reacting to conditions in a given environment, recognizing a problem, and finding a solution by interacting with its surroundings and users.
  • Universal Design — The designs that may not be strict in architecture or product design or are interdisciplinary or difficult to categorize into other categories.
    In addition to the general evaluation, the student project with the highest score will be awarded the label Emerging Designers. Parallel to the Jury’s evaluation, representatives of Solarlux will select the laureates of Solarlux Choice.

The 2023 awards ceremony will take place during the Architecture in Foyer 2023 conference at the Solarlux Campus in Germany (Melle, Lower Saxony, Germany) from 22–23 September. The laureates and winning entries will also be presented in the annual publication of Design Educates.


The awards are open to everyone.


Laureates of the awards join an elite group of 116 members from 35 countries to date, are welcome to present their designs during the awards ceremony in Germany, and are in the book Design Educates. Moreover, the selection of the winners, laureates of prizes, honorable mentions, and nominations will be in each competition category. Additionally to the general evaluation, the student project with the highest score gets the label Emerging Designers.

Entry fees

Lastly, the basic registration fee per entry is as follows and represented in USD for Early, Regular, and Late entries respectively.

  • Individual student: $100
  • Team of students: $125
  • Individual professional: $250
  • Company > 10 employees: $300
  • Company 11 – 100 employees: $350
  • Company 100+ employees: $600.


Finally, read more on Archup:


THE ABSTRACT DESIGN STYLE : Conceptual Design Challenge

LIV Hospitality Design Awards 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *