The Daylight Award 2024 are open

The Daylight Award 2024 are open

The Daylight Award 2024 is open

The Daylight Award honors and supports daylight research and daylight in architecture. It acknowledges and encourages both scientific knowledge and practical application of daylight, which interlink disciplines that are usually addressed in separated, monocultural spheres, professional circles, or practices. The Daylight Award strives to raise a holistic understanding of daylight and increase its positive impact on life.


The Daylight Award for research is awarded to individuals or smaller groups of scientists who have distinguished themselves as outstanding contributors to internationally recognized daylight research. It acknowledges highly original and influential advances in the areas of natural science, human science, or social science, with special emphasis on the effects of daylight on human health, well-being, and performance.


The Daylight Award for Architecture is awarded to one or more architects or other professionals who have distinguished themselves by realizing architecture or creating urban environments that showcase the unique use of daylight. Special emphasis will be put on architecture that considers the overall quality of life, its impact on human health, well-being, and performance, and its value to society.
The award winner in each category is rewarded with a personal prize of €100,000.

The Daylight Award will actively solicit nominations from organizations, architects, researchers, and other professionals who have expertise and interest in the field of daylight research and daylight in architecture. Additionally, the Award accepts individual nominations from professionals.

The nominations end by 15 September 2023. Please send your nominations to the e-mail address:

The Jury will undertake deliberations during the following months, and the 2024 laureates will be announced on 16 May 2024.


Three new members join the jury for the 2024 Award, representing additional research fields and complementing the jury´s broad experience and knowledge within science and architecture:

Juhani Pallasmaa, a Finnish architect, writer, and teacher, has lectured extensively across the world for more than 40 years. From 2009 to 2014 he served on the jury for the Pritzker Architecture Prize;

Dorte Mandrup, founder of Dorte Mandrup A/S, Copenhagen, DK. Chair of the Mies van der Rohe Award 2019, Adjunct Professor at The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, and holds frequent visiting professorships abroad;

Russell Foster, Director of the Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology and Head of the Sleep and Circadian Neuroscience Institute at the University of Oxford, UK. In 2020, Russell Foster was awarded with The Daylight Award for his research;

Iwan Baan is a Dutch photographer, known internationally for images that narrate the life and interactions that occur within architecture. Winner of the Golden Lion for Best Installation at Venice Architecture Biennale 2012;

Yvonne de Kort, Professor and Chair of Environmental Psychology of Human-Technology Interaction in the Department of Industrial Engineering and Innovation Sciences at Eindhoven University of Technology, NL;

Michael J. Balick, Vice President for Botanical Science and Director of the Institute of Economic Botany New York, US. Internationally recognized as a leader in the field of ethnobotany, the study of the relationship between plants, people, and culture;

Gerd Folkers, Professor for Pharmaceutical Chemistry since at the ETH Zurich, CH. Previously served at the Swiss National Science Foundation, and has been director of the Collegium Helveticum since 2012. Member of the Swiss Science Council served as President until 2019.


The three foundations behind the award have a long history when it comes to awarding best practices within daylight. Since 1980, VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and VELUX STIFTUNG have rewarded the following professionals with daylight awards; Jørn Utzon (DK) (1980), Henning Larsen (DK) (1987), Bob Gysin (CH) (2007), Richard Perez (USA) (2008), Peter Zumthor (CH) (2010), James Carpenter (USA) (2010), Lacaton & Vassal (F) (2011), Gigon & Guyer (CH) (2012) and SANAA (JP) (2014), Steven Holl (USA) (2016), Marilyne Andersen (CH) (2016), Hiroshi Sambuichi (JP) (2018), Greg Ward (USA) (2018), Juha Leiviskä (FI) (2020), Russell Foster (UK) (2020) Henry Plummer (US) (2020), Shelley McNamara and Yvonne Farrell from Grafton Architects (IE) (2022), and Anna Wirz-Justice
(CH) (2022).


The Daylight Award was established by the philanthropic foundations VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN, and VELUX STIFTUNG. Also, it is conferred biennially in two categories: Daylight Research and Daylight in Architecture. The award is given as personal prizes, and each to the sum of €100,000.

For more details, please visit


Finally, Read more on Archup:

2023 Іnternational Architecture Competition | Reinterpreting the Space

ADFF 23-24

Alabama hotel by Avenir Creative occupies three historic buildings

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *