The Architectural League of New York‘s invite-only, two-stage review has been highlighting the work of emerging practices through its portfolio competition since 1982. The awards program has helped launch the careers of more than 200 North American-based architects.

“The award spotlights individuals and firms based within the us , Canada, and Mexico with distinct design voices and therefore the potential to influence the disciplines of architecture, landscape design, and urbanism. The jury reviews significant bodies of realized work and considers accomplishments within the planning and academic communities also because the public realm.” Past winners include Toshiko MoriTatiana Bilbao, Enrique Norten, Casper Mork-UlnesMiriam Peterson, Nathan Rich, Olalekan Jeyifous, Mimi Hoang, Rosalyn Shieh, and many others.

The 2021 Emerging Voices are:

Pascale Sablan
Beyond the Built Environment, New York, NY

SAY IT LOUD, Center for Architecture, AIANY, New York, 2017. Image courtesy of Cameron Blaylock


Adib Cúre, Carie Penabad


Escuelita Buganvilia, Escuintla, Guatemala. Image courtesy of Waseem Syed


Chelina Odbert
Kounkuey Design Initiative, Los Angeles and Coachella, CA / Nairobi / Stockholm


KDI – KEFRI Carpentry Academy, Kibera, Kenya, 2016 – ongoing. Image courtesy of Kounkuey Design Initiative


Lori A. Brown
Syracuse, NY


Design consultation and proposal for the Alabama’s Women’s Wellness Center, Huntsville, Alabama. Image courtesy of Lori A. Brown


Ryan Bollom, DK Osseo-Asare
Low Design Office, Austin, TX / Tema, Ghana


Guadalupe River House, New Braunfels, TX. Image courtesy of Casey Dunn


Craig Borum, Jen Maigret
PLY+, Ann Arbor, MI


Saint Mary Chapel, Livonia, Michigan. Image courtesy of Adam Smith


Sara Zewde
Studio Zewde, New York, NY


Proposal for a memorial to Barbara Jordan in Houston, Texas. Image courtesy of Studio Zewde


José Pablo Ambrosi, Loreta Castro-Reguera
Taller Capital, Mexico City, Mexico


El Represo Colosio Dam and Public Park, Nogales, Sonora. Hydrology: Juan Ansberto Cruz. Design team: Arturo Frías, Andrea Ramírez, Catalina Vega, Manuel Abad, Ivan Rangel, Gustavo Rojas. Stru cture: Gerson Huerta. Image courtesy of Rafael Gamo


Congratulations to this year’s award recipients! To learn more about the winners click here.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *